Netflix this April

This month has been filled with the release of films and Netflix programs. Here I am, once again, to give a short list of films and programs I seen and highly recommend if you ever find yourself overwhelmed by the infinite amount of content found on Netflix.

Something’s Gotta Give (2003)

I previously mention this film in a blog post where I talked about the amazing director, Nancy Meyers and her ability to project my interior decor fantasies. This is the first Nancy Meyers film that I ever saw that drew me to obsession. Staring Jack Nicholson and the gorgeous Diane Keaton, this film focuses on the aging womanizer, Harry Sanborn (Nicholson) and his compulsion dating younger women until he meets playwright, Erika Berry (Keaton) who makes him think twice about his lifestyle. It is a lovely story with humor with a beautiful Hampton- beach decor and french cultural influences or in other words my happy place.

The Imitation Game (2015)

I remember watching this film for the tenth time in London for a class. As a person that admires England’s history and culture, I absolutely love this film. But for those that are not too fond of historical films, trust me when I say, you will not be bored while watching this film. It focus on Cambridge mathematics alumni Alan Turing, played by Benedict Cumberbatch, to crack Nazi codes, including Enigma which at that time was thought to be unbreakable. The film follows Alan difficult upbringing as OCD homosexual to the aftermath of saving his country. I highly recommend this film!

Grace and Frankie Season 2

One of my favorite Netflix series premiers its second season with more laughs and heart as we continue to follow the adventures of Grace and Frankie. After dealing with the infidelity of their husbands and coming out as homosexual and in love with each other, Grace and Frankie now live under the same roof and lean to move on. The second season has both women starting a company together, but it is not your mama’s company. Want to know what their selling? you won’t believe your eyes. Check out both seasons and let me know what you think.

The Big Short (2015)

This one may be a film labeled by some as “funny but boring” with its educative purpose; however, I find it funny and informative without being too overwhelming. I am not a manger of a hedge fund nor will I ever be, but I am familiar with the stock market crash of 2008 as will many of you. This film tells the story of various financiers who benefited or were serious harm by the crash of ’08. Of course, there is a series of financial information and terms that will make an average viewer head spin. Nevertheless, if you are able to understand (as the filmmakers try to make the financial aspect appealing as possible thanks to celebrities making cameos and explaining in analogies) you will realize the damage of the destruction and the effect on the American population.

These were my pick for this month. Stay tune for May picks with a larger selection.

Leave a comment