Nancy Meyers: Chic Set Design

Behind every woman is an beautiful, elegant, modern set design.

Photo Credit: Peggy Sirota

Nancy Meyers unique modern style reflects my aspiration for the appearance of my future home. The first Nancy Meyer film I saw was unintentionally, The Parent Trap. The fact that it was shot in London and it exhibited the style I seek from London. The set design featured furniture from my favorite home décor stores, such as Pottery Barn and Crate and Barrel. The film that blew me away, and allowed me to discover the woman behind this genius was Something’s Gotta Give (2003)

Something’s Gotta Give, 2003. Photo: Columbia Pictures

 The Hampton home featured in the film gave me a sense of comfort, it was so beautiful design and every detail is carefully crafted. I could immediately point out the items I’ve seen in the home furniture stores. Her warm and French theme sets gives the audience a better understanding of the mood of the film. After viewing this film, all I could think about was going driving to this home in the Hamptons, coupling a cup of tea and snuggling in Diane Keaton character’s sofa. The majority of her films, include the same style theme but it is able to fit each film individually. The Holiday (2006), Something’s Gotta Give (2003), It’s Complicated (2009), and The Intern (2015)

By the time I’ve heard about her 5th film, The Intern (2015), staring in theaters, I ignored the absurd lack of plot and focused on the set design, which featured a glamorous townhouse that looked like it could be owned by Sarah Jessica Parker.

townhouse

The Intern, Jules’ house, Brooklyn NY. Image Credit: Warner Bros.

Whenever I am stressed, I love to imagine myself in this kitchen. This kitchen serves me as a goal for the future and as visual therapy.

Leave a Reply

