A Single Man

Photo Credit: The Weinstein Company

One of my favorite films of all time. Before Moonlight, this was the film that took my breath away. I was amazed of how this film was perfectly made. It contains all elements in my list of a perfectly executed film; it made me feel without relating to any elements in my life. Instead. It does it through outstanding cinematography. From beginning to end, the film is filled with beautiful statements that makes me wonder, did Tom Ford actually wrote this?

(For those of you who don’t know, Tom Ford is a fashion designer)

Through out the film, George struggles with the loss of his partner of sixteen years and has decided to end his life. Before he does, George has chosen upon himself to savor ever last second and through out this journey, encounters a new reason to live. The entire film’s gloomy lighting reflects George’s mood and as he slows down and appreciates what is often ignored, the whole world suddenly lights up in color. I reason I can relate to this film is the fact that I appreciate the little moments in life. As a college student, I am constantly busy, but I believe it is important to stop and smell the roses.

George is quite meticulous in the way he puts himself together. On the exterior he is highly polish, in fact he believe’s if he can keep everything together in his outer world, his inner world will be calmer than it is.

Another component that ties the whole film together and I am absolutely obsessed with is the score. This is coming from a girl who can care less about orchestral compositions. The score sets the mood of the overall film and its so amazingly done that I still listen to it today. I don’t believe I will stop listening to the score only because it seems to apply in this moment of my life. It may just be me, but I like to think that we all have moments of isolations, moments where we feel like we are sinking, drowning, overwhelmed, can’t breathe.

IMG_5068

If you would like to listen to the beautiful score, click the link below.

 

Leave a Reply

